Redbook Say WHAT?

March 17, 2016 — 12 Comments

Remember I wrote that I was submitting my work these days?

I’m published on Redbook! I wrote about being a Tiger Mom, a topic I’ve talked about here on my blog.

I wrote about how I can’t really teach my kid street savvy, which I acquired as a by product of where I grew up. The most I can do is teach him to strive to best he can be, and instill him with confidence.

Regrading street savvy, I recently let Little Dude binge-watch all of Breaking Bad, when I re-watched the entire series. I figure that will teach him that DRUGS ARE BAD. Mostly I got tired of waiting for him to go to sleep to watch it, so I reframed it as a cautionary tale about drugs.

 

I would LOVE it if you’d check out my article on Redbook, “Why I Tell My Child A+ Is The Only Acceptable Grade.” Here’s the link:

http://www.redbookmag.com/life/mom-kids/a42918/why-i-make-my-child-do-homework-in-the-summer/

(yes they changed the title and the link still shows the old title, shaddup, it’s Redbook, they can do what they want!

Thanks for reading and being so supportive. I love you guys!

signature

12 responses to Redbook Say WHAT?

  1. 

    THAT IS AWESOME. I thought RedBook was a pamphlet about periods but THAT IS AWESOME.

  2. 

    My son and I watched Breaking Bad together. He cried at the end. He totally got it.

    And congrats on the Redbook thing! I went and read it. I don’t think trying to retain info in the summer is a bad thing, but I would have to say I don’t agree with the Tiger Mom thing, as I think it often backfires, so I guess kind of like the same thing your friend thinks. But, to each his own! Interesting perspective. 🙂

  3. 

    Nice that you sold an article. I’m sure that the fact that you care about your son’s advancement, will be of great benefit for him in the future.

  4. 

    I have no doubt that you are a very fine mother and life coach, plus you look hot in a pair of jeans, a rock-T and can build a killer blanket fort.

  5. 

    Great article. It really is about how one can persevere in adversity. You did it and you want even better for your child. I wish you and your son the best.

  6. 

    That is awesome! Congratulations on the recognition of your talent! And – I love the article too. 🙂

  7. 

    Congratulations! I remember that piece – well done! 🙂

  8. 

    WOO! HOO! Congratulations, Samara!
    I knew you were the real deal when we first ‘met’ a couple of years ago. I have no doubt that this is the beginning to many awesome opportunities to come. And, I’ll get to say, “Yep! I knew her when….” or “Yeah, I know the famous writer, Samara. She and I set the Erma Bombeck conference tables on fire!”
    Seriously though. You have the skills, the personality, and intellect to do anything you want. I can’t wait to see what happens next. xo

  9. 

    I already commented when published here the first time. Which grade has to bring laptops in the school? We don’t have this during the first 8 years, kids use school computers. I am glad to hear that he said no to you and you respected it. Real tiger mom wouldn’t. 😦

    • 

      They give every kid a laptop starting in middle school. They return them at the end of the year.

      Yep, I would have to say I’m a modified Tiger Mom. I have lots of fun with my kid. And he has plenty of downtime.
      But I do want him to do the very best he’s capable of. Kids are so lazy today. They would rather not have to study and get a B then put in some effort and get an A. I wonder if it’s always been like that, but I just didn’t notice.

When I see the orange light, I have a BLOGASM...

