Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want

October 8, 2014 — 30 Comments

I WISH I could say that this was the title of my blog post, but in fact, it is the THIRD chapter in Helena Hann-Basquiat’s latest story.

WHAT? You’ve missed the first two? Well, this story is SO good you can just pick it up here. Or, if you want to be technical about the whole thing, I suppose you could start here, at Lizzi’s corner of the world, with Chaper One. Then, head over to Gretchen’s place for Chapter Two. And because this story is so captivating, you’ll want to visit Mandi’s blog for the next installment.

Like Gretchen (sorry, gurl, I had to copy you) I believe Helena is the kind of guest one pours the good wine for. Light the candles. Put on some great music (she has discerning taste, our Darling Dilettante) to set the proper mood for this most distinguished lady.

Thank goodness. Someone to finally class up the joint…

 

***

He asked me to dance.

It was like something out of a dream, and I’m not trying to over-romanticize it, darlings, but it was like we were the only two people in the club.

He asked me to dance, even though no one else was dancing.

He didn’t care about that, he said, when I mentioned it. He just wanted to dance with me.

I’m not talking about the Charleston or the Foxtrot, darlings. I’m talking about the type of dance where he could hold me close and tell me all the things that he’d been wanting to say, and where I could ask him exactly what he was thinking, and was he crazy, and what did he expect from me. You know, all that romantic stuff.

The band, Duckie’s Pompadour, was not bad, actually. They were a gimmick band, and their entire repertoire consisted of the soundtrack of John Hughes films – not the later ones like Home Alone or Flubber – I’m talking about the only ones that really matter. The Brat Pack films – Breakfast Club, Sixteen Candles, Pretty in Pink, and Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. I don’t know if Penny had told Spenser about my obsession with these films, or about my love for The Smiths, and Morrissey in particular, but as Duckie’s Pompadour launched into The Smiths song Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want, he decided to ask me to dance.

It was hot in the club – it was mid July, and there was no way around the heat. I was wearing a light cotton sundress that I hoped would keep me cool, but when Spenser put his arm around me, I was suddenly very self-conscious about how much I was sweating, and would he notice, and and and…

“I’m done,” he said suddenly, without any explanation, gazing into my face, looking drunk.

I started to pull away, thinking that he meant he was done with the dance, but he pulled me close and whispered something in my ear.

“I’ve been looking for you for so long, I just didn’t know your name.”

I’d been with romantic guys before, darlings, and so I was leery of smooth-talking Casanovas.

I had no time for bullshit, and game playing. I won’t lie to you – there was a chill – that good chill, more like a shudder or a shiver. There was attraction, and god, the dance, the timing, it was perfect, and either he had plied Penny for information and was trying to manipulate me, in which case I’d have to put an end to this right quick, or… The alternative – that he was actually sweet, romantic, and smitten with me – my crushed self-esteem was having a hard time accepting that.

“What exactly do you want from me?” I whispered back into his ear, and that closeness – that intimacy – felt right, and it frightened me.

“You,” he said plainly. He looked me in the eyes, and I couldn’t turn away. “I want you. I want to get to know you. I want to know if you are everything I’ve dreamed you are. I’ve wanted that from the moment I laid eyes on you.”

For him, it seemed – and he would later tell me this was true – it had been love at first sight. He’d gone home that night and told his roommate that he’d met the woman he was going to marry. You think these things only happen in the movies, darling, but I’m telling you, this is what happened.

His straightforwardness and earnest honesty might have come off as slightly presumptuous and creepy from anyone else, but there was nothing aggressive or crazy about the way he was talking or looking at me.

Still…

“Would you settle for coffee?” I asked. “Call me sometime this week and we can get coffee, and you can get what you want – to get to know me.”

He smiled, and it was a look of pure bliss. His eyes were enormous! Not in a freakish way, in an adorable kitten way. When he smiled, his eyes opened wide and practically sparkled. God, it melted me. If he was going to smile around me like that all the time I was going to have to carry a towel around with me.

“I’ll call you,” he promised, and not in the way of a man who’s just crawled out of your bed without even knowing your last name and sneaking out in the middle of the night.

“I’ll answer the phone,” I said, with a grin of my own, which I’ve been told has the ability to stop heartbeats, and it appeared to be true that night, because Spenser reeled and turned away, wearing a grin so big it threatened to crack his face in two.

We were a couple of fools.

The band announced that they were taking a break, and I saw Spenser talking to the singer, and I began to feel suspicious. Did he know them? Did he put them up to playing that Smiths song just so he could ask me to dance? Later I would find out this wasn’t the case, but it didn’t matter – my suspicious anger would only last for a few seconds. I didn’t know very much about Spenser at that point. I knew his name, his age, I knew he was not a bartender by trade, but had gone back to school and was working so as to minimize the amount of student loans he took. All this I got from the Countess Arcade. What I didn’t know – what Penny had neglected to mention, was that Spenser was a musician.

He got up on the stage and sat at the piano. He didn’t look at me – not at first – but I couldn’t take my eyes off of him. He put his fingers to the keys, and played the first few bars of a song I knew immediately, and loved more than I know how to put into words. I first heard it on an Elvis Costello record, but of course, it’s been recorded by just about everyone, from Frank Sinatra to Miles Davis, Etta James to Chet Baker, right up to Sarah Vaughn or Rufus Wainwright.

He began to sing the introduction to the famous song that is rarely heard. Then he looked at me – looked right at me and launched into the song.

My funny valentine… Sweet comic valentine… You make me smile with my heart…”

Suddenly I knew what he meant earlier. I swallowed my heart, which had risen into my throat, and whispered, under my breath.

“I’m done. Oh, god, I’m done.”

 

 

image001

 

The enigmatic Helena Hann-Basquiat dabbles in whatever she can get her hands into just to say that she has. She’s written cookbooks, ten volumes of horrible poetry that she then bound herself in leather she tanned poorly from cows she raised herself and then slaughtered because she was bored with farming. She has an entire portfolio of macaroni art that she’s never shown anyone, because she doesn’t think that the general populous or, “the great unwashed masses” as she calls them, would understand the statement she was trying to make with them. Some people attribute her with inventing the Ampersand, but she has never made that claim herself.

Earlier this year, she published Memoirs of a Dilettante Volume One, and has finished Volume Two and is in the editing process. 

Volume One is available HERE in e-book for Kindle or HERE in paperback.

Helena writes strange, dark fiction under the name Jessica B. Bell Find more of her writing at http://www.helenahb.com or connect with her via Twitter @HHBasquiat

 

 

30 responses to Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want

  1. 

    Am I frist??? (I love stealing from Lizzi!) So, Helena let me have a sneak peek the other night and I seriously teared up and got all mushy and sentimental. I’m a sucker for a good romantic story. And this is my favorite kind, the romancing of a romantic cynic. Oh my god, when he says “I’m done” I went weak. That is SO hot. And then he plays the piano and sings to her??? … sigh…

    And gurl, we should so have a little party, the three of us. Some good wine, some good music… THAT would be awesome. Can’t wait for part 4…

  2. 

    Helena, you’re such a tease. (I’m shamelessly trying to goad you into another sneak peek) Mandi’s place on Friday? Only two days… I can wait, I guess…

  3. 

    I am such a sucker for a romantic story and this one just keeps getting better. My favorite part?? The song….I’m with you…that would have done me in.

    I cannot wait for Friday!

    • 

      I have to stop myself from jumping ahead. I know what the next two chapters are, but I’ve got this Jessica B Bell Hallowe’en event to put together, so I’m forcing myself to give it a few days before I write some more on this. Besides, the anticipation, as in the real story, will only make it sweeter.

  4. 

    Aaaaaaahh… That is all xxx

  5. 

    I am enchanted. Hurry Friday! I feel like a middle school girl with her first crush!

  6. 

    PHHHHHWWWOOOOOOOOOAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • 

      I see your point. However, when you factor in Descartes’ philosophies as put forth in his famous Discourse on the Method, and applying analytical geometry, how do you account for the disparity between worldly knowledge and that acquired in institutions of higher learning?

  7. 

    This story is making me happy. Thank you for writing it.

    What’s funny is that I recently asked someone the same question: “What is it that you want from me?”

    Unfortunately, the result was nothing like yours. One day I will get into details. Right now, it still hurts too much.

    • 

      People so rarely know what they want, or else, they idealize each other, and then when they find out what they really got in the package, they’re dissatisfied. I think that sums up a great many mismatched people. I’m glad that you’re enjoying my love story. Please feel free to continue living vicariously through me, darling. Right now I’ve enough happiness to share.

  8. 

    Jeezus…I’m done, too.

  9. 

    Do things like this happen in real life?
    If so, then I want a do over.

    • 

      Hi Samara..

      Things like these do happen in real life 🙂

      I have lived the kinda love story I used to conjure up in my dreams 😛

      I’m still living it…waiting for the climax of my story..

      I hope, wish & pray it ends well… 🙂

  10. 

    Where can I find the next part?? 😦

  11. 

    Would love to comment but must read #4. Riveting!

  12. 

    Helena, this is wonderful! I can feel your happiness! 🙂

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. First Dances, Strange Dreams, and Very Little Rest For the Wicked | Being the Memoirs of Helena Hann-Basquiat, Dilettante - October 8, 2014

    […] Three of that story, entitled “Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want” (yes, darlings, after the Smiths song) can be found on the lovely Samara’s site “A […]

  2. Opening Night Jitters | Being the Memoirs of Helena Hann-Basquiat, Dilettante - October 10, 2014

    […] who waited patiently for today after reading first Lizzi’s and then Gretchen’s and then Samara’s hosted chapters, today, over on Mandi’s site, you can read all about my first date with my […]

  3. Guest Post: I Put a Spell on You, or, Quite Possibly the Last First Kiss | Heathen Morgan - October 15, 2014

    […] One: Hunting and Gathering in the Modern Age Chapter Two: Bad Behaviour Chapter Three: Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want Chapter Four: One Night in Bangkok, or, Quite […]

  4. Let’s Spend the Night Together | Writer B is Me - October 17, 2014

    […] Age, or, The Quest for Red Grapefruit Juice” Salad: Gretchen “Bad Behavior” Meat: Samara   “Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want” Vegetables: Mandi  “One Night […]

  5. All the Stuff… 5 (Costumes, Dress Codes and Love Stories) | Drifting Through My Open Mind - October 22, 2014

    […] love story playing out as we speak… Part 1: Lizzi’s place. Part 2: Right here! Part 3: Samara’s place. Part 4: Mandi’s place Part 5: Hayley’s place Part 6: Beth’s […]

When I see the orange light, I have a BLOGASM...

