Blogging Superstar…or Fame Whore?

November 29, 2013 — 50 Comments

I wake early so I can experience the rare delicious stillness in my home.

Drink my coffee. Write down snatches of dream residue.

Work on a post. Write. Rewrite. Ponder. Then,

LIFE

CHILD BREAKFAST MOMMY WHERE’S MY PROJECT DAMN NOW I’M LATE CAN I CALL YOU BACK GET YOUR SHOES ON I’LL EMAIL YOU THE FILE WORK PHONE CALLS EMAILS PARENTS STUDENTS RUN BUSINESS PICK UP CHILD DO HOMEWORK FUCK YOU COMMON CORE! KARATE HIP HOP HEBREW SCHOOL BABYSITTER EX HUSBAND TUTOR STUDENTS TUTOR STUDENTS TEACH CLASS TEACH CLASS TUTOR STUDENTS HOME CHILD HE TALKS: MINE CRAFT BLATHER BLATHER BLATHER SCHOOL RECESS AIDAN DID THIS BRENDAN DID THAN WHAT SHOULD I DO MOMMY? I DON’T KNOW, PUNCH HIM IN THE FACE? THAT CAN’T BE RIGHT, UM, GO TO THE TEACHER? TALK. ENGAGE. READ WITH HIM. GREEK MYTHOLOGY. SHOWER BEDTIME.WHAT WAS YOUR SAD TODAY? YOUR HAPPY TODAY? WERE YOU ANXIOUS TODAY? LOVE YOU MORE THAN LIFE ITSELF GOOD NIGHT .

AHHHH.

QUIET.

I write. Think. Rewrite. Hit “Publish.”

I believe that blogging, first and foremost, is writing. But perhaps I am wrong. Feel free to expostulate.

A specialized writing, to be sure. I have much to learn. But I see that the best bloggers, the ones I consider “Blogging Superstars,” are unique and compelling writers. They connect with the world around them. Their followers connect with one another. It’s a beautiful dance of thought and community and I want IN.

I’ll admit it. I want to be a Blogging Superstar someday.

But I am CONFUSED. Because lately, I see bloggers who are considered “Blogging Superstars” and to me, they are just “Fame Whores.”

Perhaps because I am embryonic in the word of blogging, I don’t understand the rules. But the person who inspired this blog, has given me advice to “write truthfully what you’re feeling,”

I know that successful blogging is hard work. At this moment, I am a dilettante.

To truly touch people; to inspire; to build an audience that communes not only with you but with each other- to create this beautiful world of thought and ideas and shared emotions and support- this is an undertaking of a very high magnitude.

Sacrifices are made. I am making them.

Even though I have to be up close and personal for my job, I’m a mess lately. I look down at my chipped, 3-week-old Lindsay Lohan mess of a manicure. My hair goes unwashed. Thank God I can rock a hat. I dress for work in the easiest thing possible – the clothes left slung on the chair the night before. Sniff the blouse pits. It’ll do.

My house is dirty -pfffft. A clean house is a sign of a wasted life.

My body grows softer each day I skip the gym. Yes, I SKIP THE GYM. You would have to perceive “gym as religion” to understand that I can actually SEE my muscles cannibalize as I write this.

I have hit “reset” where priorities are concerned, so I can get to know my fellow bloggers and feel their minds. To see the ORANGE LIGHT, so we connect.

Oh my God, I dig it. Let the wordplay begin.

I’m having BLOGASMS when you come in here and comment. It’s better than sex.

Maybe not.

I know authentic Blogging Superstars when I encounter them. And most of them have an entire life to be lived outside of blogging. But they make it work.

And their love for the written word is plain and true. They are bloggers, yes, but they are WRITERS.

And some of them generously use their Superstardom as a platform to help others. What graciousness. What magnificence.

But what is this other thing? This Fame Whore?

I can smell them at fifty paces. I just can. It’s a “Project Girl goes to High Fallutin’ College” thing. I have a sense of smell like a Doberman.

Fame Whores are aspiring Superstars. They blog in earnest; write well; answer all comments; read and provide thoughtful commentary on other blogs.

But there is a frenzied desperation in their actions. And I can see how badly they want not to be a Blogging Superstar, but a STAR. It debases the process.

He/She knows no life outside of blogging. How do I know this? Because I DO. Because wherever I go, he/she is there. He/she commented on 483,000 blogs before ever launching his/her own, to ensure a following.

Such strategy. And I thought this was about writing.

He/she is at every blog I ever read. It has taken me a month to read the blogs he/she has read in 3 days. He/she works must be independently wealthy, have a sugar daddy/mommy, or an administrative day job, and gets to spend the better part of the day commenting commenting commenting commenting.

Goddamn my stupid educators job where I try to make a difference in people’s lives. Really gets in the way of my blogging.

He/She are tweets constantly. Non stop. Usually at carefully selected Blogging Superstars. Holy Shiz. I check out Twitter, and all he/she does is TWEET TWEET TWEET TWEET TWEET.

Twitter groans under the weight of another of his/her ridiculous self-endorsing re-tweets.

And her/his writing, while good, sometimes excellent, not SPECTACULAR. Yet they are universally lauded. Such is the epic self hype of the Fame Whore.

Even the Blogging Superstars, whom I love and adore, are bamboozled. I am sad.

I am jealous. Because I want to be a Blogging Superstar.

But my life is not set up to be a Fame Whore. I don’t have the time to exploit the Internet mercilessly. And I’m not sure I want to go that route. Because tsunamis, while powerful, can cause destruction.

Destruction of what should be pure and good and true. WRITING. Which, as I started this post with, is what the foundation of blogging really is. Or not? I don’t know anymore.

James Altucher, a blogger whom I admire tremendously, believes if you want to be a really good writer, then write several hours every day. And read, 2-3 hours every day.

So, Fame Whore. Be still. Be quite. Enough with the tweeting. The rah-rah rah-ing. The bells and whistles.

Use some of that time to Read.

Reflect. Drink tea and look out your window. You already have a gazillion followers. Read some more. Observe. Sit in a cafe and just listen to snatches of conversation instead of the constant sound of your incessant social media self-promotion.

Unless this is all about trying to become a Professional Blogger.

AHA!

 

aha-moment

IT’S ALL ABOUT MONEY!!

Ohhh, I get it. You want to make a living, financially humble as it may be, off of blogging or writing. Of course. you do. We all do.

So that’s why you are everywhere. That’s why you tweet tumble Facebook Pinterest Instagram Snapchat Google+ Linkedin Flickr Deviantart Tagged LiveJournal till I want to

blind myself like Oedipus Wrecks Blogging.

That’s why you have hijacked all my friends who never were.

You feel you have to you strategize nauseatingly to make money off of blogging.

Well played, Fame Whore. You will, no doubt, have the career I never had, or never will.

It’s all about money. Even blogging, I suppose. Today, I am sad.

I’m ready to hear what other bloggers have to say. I can take it.

Namaste, Samara

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
50 responses to Blogging Superstar…or Fame Whore?

  1. 

    Sometimes I think that a lot of the so-called blogging superstars aren’t at their core, great writers. Which pisses me off, because I always try to write well and no one seems to care. I like your stream of consciousness style on the blog – it’s different, and different is great in the blog world.

    • 

      That’s part of what I’m saying. Yes, they hit an occasional spark of greatness. But so does Miley Cyrus. Wrecking Ball is a great song, but she’s a tragic fame whore.
      You get me, Cheney. Thank you.

  2. 

    I don’t have time to exploit the internet constantly either, so I don’t think I will ever be a blogging superstar (although I totally want to be.)

    Also? Agree with Cheney. Your fresh style is what drew me into reading your blog. Samara so fresh!

    • 

      We’re a mutual admiration society, here, Janie girl. Let’s be each other’s superstars.
      Fuck the fame whores.
      But the blogging superstars? They’re amazing. Have you checked out Le Clown? Jen and Tonic? Speaker 7? OMG, get ready to Fall. In. Love.

      • 

        I follow all of them πŸ˜‰
        They say what’s on their minds, which is what I am trying to do now, too. Have you noticed how good it feels??

      • 

        Uh – Yeah!

        Having a Blogasm!

      • 

        I’d rather fuck my wife (sorry, bad joke).

        Le Clown intimidates me. Bleeearrrrrrgggghhh finally got that out.

      • 

        Jaklumen-
        Le Clown is the reason this blog exists. I haven’t found him to be intimidating, but he is inspiring.

        I could see why bloggers would feel that way, though. He is a true WordPress Star.

      • 

        *shrug* He writes so aggressively yet had the most gentle response to my comment– which was basically “400 comments in a day? No way I can do that, and I don’t feel comfortable in a blog with that many, like Wil Wheaton’s– his fans mostly comment to each other, not him.” (he mentioned Wil Wheaton in the post)

        Yet he didn’t even really respond to my comment, either. He just expressed some gratitude to Wil Wheaton, and I think part of what I said. You’d be digging out an avalanche to find what I said, and what he said in response.

  3. 

    I think blogging and social media are so intimately woven together that it does seem like the best bloggers are also fame whores. But isn’t everyone to a certain extent?

    But I always come back to the writing. For me, it was about the local food at first then it was about the recipes and then I realized it’s about the writing. Ultimately that’s why I blog. To write. We definitely don’t do this to make money right? We might as well do it to satisfy our own need to get word on page and hope someone reads it (and get some comments for the blogasm).

    I like your style and I’ll keep reading!

    • 

      Yes, to me it’s about the writing. And because art doesn’t exist in a vacuum, I want readers. I want followers. So I get the whole social media thing.

      So, maybe we’re all whores. But some of us are…cheap whores.

      Love love love your blog. I did post a pic of my pie, by the way. It’s on my “thankful for the suburbs” post. If I could, I would blog about food. But where food is concerned, I’m just a passionate amateur.

  4. 

    The money certainly would be nice… but, I write without the money now, and if the money never comes, well, I’ll still write, because the words are there, pulsing against my temples, and if I don’t free them they have told me they will take matters into their own hands. The words mean business, and I believe their threats.

    Meh. We can’t concern ourselves with what others are doing on here. We just have to write what we need to write, and read what is worth reading. Sometimes the fame whores have something worthwhile to say. Sometimes the blogging superstars don’t.

    • 

      This is such a great statement, that sometimes the fame whores have something worthwhile to say, and sometimes the blogging superstars don’t. So true.

      Yes, it’s Zen, like most of life. It’s this, but it’s also that. Etc.

      I love the way you play with words – they mean business!! You believe their threats! Now I know why you call your blog a “kingdom” – of your imagination!

  5. 

    I wish I could consider blogging serious writing but I just can’t. I think that’s a disservice to people who actually strive to make writing their profession. I’ve know some writers and they torture themselves in a way that I don’t think bloggers do. To paraphrase Truman Capote, blogging isn’t writing. It’s typing. Sit and write some short stories. Or try to write a book. Submit your stuff to magazines. That’s writing. Try to get paid.

    There’s nothing to “admit” about your desires. We all want an audience. I sure as hell do. The more eyes the better. But you can’t compel it to happen. Keep putting it out there. If you are chosen by the Gods, it’ll happen. Otherwise, keep typing, typing, typing. Anything can happen.

    • 

      I don’t always consider blogging serious overall, but damn it, I worked pretty fucking hard on some of my blog posts– gave them as much attention, nitpicking, self-doubt, re-editing, care… as I’ve ever given to any of my “serious” writing. Maybe it’s because I don’t think of blogging as just “writing”– but a step to multimedia publishing– and THAT I have wrestled with, even a teeny bit at a professional level.

      Anyways… apologies if that came off harsh. It’s cool if you don’t think blogging generally is serious– I can readily concede that usually, it’s not.

    • 

      I do consider some bloggers serious writers. I think they could string together their posts and, with the help of a talented editor, have a great book.

      You, for one. I think of you as a writer. Own it.

      Of course I want an audience, but not by being a fame whore. They annoy me so.

      The latest blogging phenom has me truly believing that being “chosen by the Gods” has little to do with writing talent. It’s more like the Kardashians, inexplicable, yet – there it is.

      • 

        First and foremost, thanks for accusing me of being a writer. It is, all kidding aside, the nicest thing you can say to me and I appreciate it. I reread that sentence several times.

        Here’s a link to one of Bukowski’s best poems, So You Want to be A Writer. It’s about the desire to be a writer. Take a minute and read it. It could change everything you think about the aspiration to write.

      • 

        I just re-read the Bukowski poem. I hadn’t read it in a long while. It may just be the best piece of written work on being a writer EVER.

        How do you not think of yourself as a writer? You are a wordsmith of the highest order. You are engaging. Funny. Personal.. Insightful.

        I absolutely could see you putting together a book of your blog posts. I don’t feel that way about everyone I read on WordPress.

        from the Bukowski poem:
        “unless being still would drive you to madness or suicide or murder” – that’s where I was out when I started this blog. In a very intense place.

        I was coming off a negative encounter with another blogger, and a million other challenges in my life. I felt like I had to write, or die.

        Thank you for that poem. It confirmed for me that my choice to start this blog was correct.

        The quote I sent to you the other day was from his book “Love is a Dog From Hell,” the poem is titled “one of the hottest.”

        Have a great day, WRITER. WRITE ON.

      • 

        It’s funny…I’ve been blogging for over five years. I’ve put it aside several times for various reasons. I get burned out or I get discouraged because of low readership (yeah, I get that). My intent is to quit for good but I always end up creeping back. Three or four weeks will pass by and I’ll start formulating paragraphs in my head while on the subway. I’ll take a photo and ask myself, β€œWhat are you going to do with that? You’re not going to post it to your blog, are you?” And then I do. Because being still eventually drives me mad.

        You are too kind. Thank you.

      • 

        Just calling it like I see it.

        Have a great evening, and a wonderful weekend.

        xo, samara

    • 

      You know, I don’t consider myself an actual writer, yet my blogging does involve a certain amount of torture – in the same sense that doing a set number of pull-ups or bench-presses is a type of torture. It’s kind of fun and keeps you in shape, but it’s still torture.

  6. 

    Yes, Sam, so YES.

    I still feel weird saying “10 years of blogging”. It seems, y’know, pretentious? But one of the newest Superstars asked how long readers were blogging, and so I checked my first post on LiveJournal. And I thought, “Holy shit, I’ve been blogging for this long– years– and they’ve got more awesome in about that many months?”

    I’m envious. I don’t want to be, but I am. I don’t want Superstar attention– that would freak me out. But, I wish I had a little more.

  7. 

    Okay, so I have to admit that having your other post set as the first page made me think you hadn’t posted since I last commented. Doh! Thankfully you left the comment about fame whores and I was thinking – uh no, that’s not what the Lexus post was about– so I actually looked around on my visit and saw the recent post thing. *face palm*

    I’m also glad you left the comment because now I know (think?) this isn’t about me. There’s some quite-similar stuff in the sphere that are quite specifically written about me, though the longer I’ve been around the more people have become accustomed to how quickly I read, ha! I swear I’m not spam! πŸ˜‰ I still don’t see myself as a blogging superstar. Most days, I’m still not comfortable calling myself a blogger… but I do know that most of us can smell the fame whores. πŸ˜‰ I just play nice and thank them a lot. Like Matticus says, it’s really all about the writing and eventually that shows. In 15 months of blogging, I’ve seen many start, flare, and burn out– you can’t sustain a community without a real voice. πŸ™‚

    I love your goal! With that sort of dedication, you are going to rock this blogging thing! πŸ˜‰

    • 

      Rara-
      You are a superstar. A rock star. A blogging force to be reckoned with.
      And an amazing human being.
      Is it weird that I feel like I really, really like you? So soon?

      • 

        Nah, not weird at all– I like you too. πŸ™‚ Internet time works on superspeed… it’s like we’ve been friends for months already. πŸ˜€

      • 

        And we’re both up at this ridiculous hour. Writers frequently are, aren’t they?

        I’ll pay for it tomorrow, but at the moment, it’s so quiet. Delicious.

        I think I’d better take that first page off my blog as a sticky.

      • 

        I’m not a big sleeper, so my body is used to it– but of course I don’t have a little one. When I babysit my sister’s kids, I am barely coherent! πŸ™‚

        But I’d agree on the first post… just in case. Most people are better detail-noticers than I am, but juuuust in case… πŸ˜€

  8. 

    Writing is writing– whether you write the great American novel, blog, or frantically scribble a fading thought on a napkin. Yes they are different and require separate amounts of commitment but they come from that place that every writer knows is undeniable. And if suppressed that creative spirit begins to decay.

    Write for that spirit.

    • 

      Jenifer-
      What an amazing insight. I love when you say things like that – “write for that spirit.”

      Yes, although some disagreed, I am with you. Writing is writing. I couldn’t stop it these days if I wanted to.

  9. 

    Hi Samara, nice to meet you! I LOVE this post, truly. I have wanted to write about this myself, and then today saw a post on “bloggy friends” from Rarasaur that emphasized my want of a conversation…and then…I found this post of yours here…

    So, maybe I won’t make a post of my thoughts and instead will opine with you here (and your readers) if you don’t mind?

    Before I launch into my two-cents, let me say that as you can see by “likes” etc, I have been all over your blog this evening reading many posts. I REALLY like what you have going here because it is raw and real and poignant in it’s rawness.

    All of the comments you have received here make valid points although I am unsure why Rarasaur thought your post might be about her LOL. Now that I am thinking about this though, could her “bloggy friends” post I read earlier have been written in response to having read this post? She did mention some bloggers being negative about/toward her…I haven’t seen it, and am certainly curious now, but I digress…

    I will try not to be too long winded although this is a BIG conversation IMHO and you are right. Those that each of us categorize as “superstars” and those we categorize as “fame whores” may vary person to person, but that’s just taste and perception after all. Unless we have actually taken the time to really get to know another blogger as a person and not just their blog-self we cannot say we know their motivation or reasons.

    Also worth considering before we judge, is what may be their personal skills and expertise outside of writing or blogging. THAT could play a big part in how they blog and promote their blog/work.

    When I first started Cheri Speak I knew one thing and that was I didn’t want it to be a “niche” blog. This was for various reasons, but one main reason of creating this blog was to have one place were ALL of the varied things I have done could be found. Potential clients/employers frequently Google people they are considering doing some sort of business with and aside from my professional life, I have been a prominent activist for more than a decade so a simple search of my name brings up a plethora of things; good, bad and ugly. Make sense?

    Now all that being said, I am a professional writer, i.e. I write for a living, but I do not write on MY blog for a living. My blog is my playground and my showcase.

    On a side note:I am also the queen of typos LOL so don’t hold that against me. Even writer’s need editors. Of course I edit for other writer’s and do just fine, but that’s another story.

    The point is, I write about all sorts of things for all sorts of reasons and I use my blog for all sorts of things to do with my writing, my business, my clients, my passions; my ups, downs and all arounds are on every page and in every post and I promote the helly out of it. Why? Because just like any other writer, I want readers too and the fact of the matter is, with 20+ years in media, I know how to promote LOL. so….why wouldn’t I? In fact, I post about it to help other bloggers learn how to do it. And, because I promote and use my blog as a library of “samples” for editors…I get a lot of freelance work along the way.

    Because I am most often quite prolific and may seem somewhat scattered to readers since I cover a wide range of subjects and because I use social media etc … I could easily be perceived as a “Fame Whore” to some who do not know everything I have just said here. But, just because someone perceives it, doesn’t make it true.

    As for the “super star” side of your equation…would I like to be considered a “Blogging Super Star?” Of course I would, but not for any other reason than to feel that what I am doing matters or makes a difference somehow.

    I love my WordPress readers and engage with them as often as I can on their blogs and on mine. I never hit “like” or comment if I haven’t actually read their post. That’s platitudes and I know I don’t want that done to me. But I also work hard to cultivate readers from outside of this place, those who are outside of any potential cliques and bromances.

    What irks me is the whole “Freshly Pressed” stuff. I know bloggers who have been here less time than I who have been multi-pressed and yeh, some of the posts are great, but I know I have some “Super Star” and “Freshly Pressed” worthy pieces I have worked my professional writer’s ass off on. It really rubs me the wrong way some days to see so and so yet again “Freshly Pressed” for something kitschy or hokey while I am yet again overlooked for a serious sourced/vetted research or news piece or for something uber creative and interactive like my Song Title series etc….You get my point.

    On a validating note — which I must say came at a really needed ego-plumping time, I discovered yesterday that MY perception of readership on some of these blogs is not necessarily accurate and found out that at least two of them I love, follow and “look up to” do not have any heavier a readership than I do and that in fact sometimes MY readership is stronger/more…all that without the “cliques” Rarasaur posted about and the “Fame Whores” you speak of and the “Freshly Pressed” I whined about.

    Sorry I took up so much space here in the comments!!

    • 

      Cheri-
      First of all, I am honored that you are here. I hope that does not come off as obsequious. I am a newbie. You are a Superstar.

      I don’t know why Rara would think that post was about her. She knows I adore her! We were just commenting back and forth the other night at the wee hour of 3 am. She was the very first person to read and leave a long comment on my blog. She is also a Superstar. And quite humble about it, as she thought that post was about her. Which is all part of the magical charm that is Rara.

      You are also a WRITER. I have read many posts on your blog. The scope of what you cover is mind blowing and a bit intimidating. It’s obvious you are a professional. So of course, you use social medial to promote your work.

      I should have commented on your Black Box post. It left me in tears. My brother is bipolar. I just didn’t know what to write. Your description of depression left me feeling as though a truck had run over my heart. I love my brother even more because of your post.

      Yes, of course whom I consider to be a”Superstar” and a “Fame Whore” is my opinion. Let’s just say that for me, Fame Whores have been around for a very short time. and have a gazillion followers because they started promoting themselves before they ever posted. And they feel like toilet paper on my shoe. Wherever I go, THERE they are.

      Except here. They’ve not been here. I’ve had some of the the most incredible writers stop by – you. Rara. Le Clown, who inspired my blog. Exile on Pain Street. Trent Lewin. I’m honored that they’ve taken the time to visit.

      Cheri, it’s writers like you who inspire me. This is the time and the place for me to thank you. Without you, I wouldn’t be doing this.

      love,
      samara

  10. 

    Samara, thank you. I don’t really consider myself a “super star” except on my hypomanic days (as you know I am bipolar) and of course on THOSE days I usually know I’m lying to myself LOL! I started a couple of other blogs years ago…both were very niched to politics and activism.

    I had good readership, but IMO I was simply continuing to narrow my world versus widen it, i.e. the people I was accumulating and surrounding myself were too like minded so there was a lot of confirmation bias going on and little to challenge my ideas or beliefs.

    As I mentioned, I really hate “platitudes” and I really hate when people hit “like” or “share” on something just because I wrote it or they like the title versus because they read it and actually liked it.

    Make sense? As a marketing guru I have to shake my head at all these businesses and individuals who BUY “likes” and “follows”…wtf? I mean really, how does that correlate into accomplishing something on your own merit…helly, what does that accomplish at all? I think these must be some of the “Fame Whores”.

    I didn’t realize people participate as you have said BEFORE creating a blog in order to start with a bang. I have a few other blogs for different purposes and none of them “took off” just because I already had a readership. In fact, for the most part the readership on each is quite different.and none are anything like (so far) the readership and traffic I have on Cheri Speak. Which BTW is a truly mixed bag of all walks of life which makes sense because I write on so many topics.

    I try to be sure that at least once I week I write/post something specific to each “demographic” my blog reaches. I write for my readers as well as myself. Some like this or that and maybe this or that is not my favorite thing to write about, but if I have readers looking for it, I will write it for them…like the whole bipolar series.

    I do however always need to make sure I myself am getting pleasure from having/writing/maintaining my blog, otherwise it is just another J-O-B that doesn’t pay, uhgh!

    I am so glad that my post on BBW touched you and helped in some way with your feelings and dealings with your brother. I have a couple articles i am working on that go deeper into the “ugly” of bipolar… including my own personal story of a major manic [read psychotic] episode. It is very painful/hard/scary to write and I will be exposing myself further to all these people who really don’t know me (including prospective clients), but I’ve never been one to hide and be anonymous..so…

    Anyhow, thank you for the compliments. When it comes to “blogging”, I have just learned as I go and it is very much a labor of love.

    • 

      Jumping in late, I didn’t mean that I thought Samara would write an anti-me post (hopefully it’d just be a kick-in-the-pants email if I deserved one.) πŸ™‚ It’s just general anxiety from the last time someone wrote a big post all anti-me. I read 3 paragraphs of rage and unhappiness in, nodding sympathetically… and then their last line said it was about me, and since then any post about cliques or FPs or blog fame or anything gives me actual hives. I know… I know… I’m a sissy. πŸ™‚

      • 

        I don’t understand how anyone could write and anti-rara post. Not trying to be an ass kisser or anything, but you have such a big heart. And you work so hard at your blog – you live it – you deserve all the accolades you’ve earned.
        I’m a project girl. The next time someone picks on you, I will eff them up.

  11. 

    The very second we publish anything somewhere on a public internet page – WordPress, Twitter, facebook, we immediately lose our fame virginity. If we didn’t want fame, there’s pen and paper and there’s a password-protected hard-drive. And once we ever start wondering why so few people are reading us, and think of ways to increase the readership – that’s when we take the first step into the fame whoredom. I leave comments whenever a post or a comment trigger an immediate reaction from my inner smart-ass, and because the blogger might appreciate some feedback – but I also keep in mind the possibility that this comment may help lead someone to my blog. So I guess that makes me a fame whore – whether you actually had me in mind or not (If you had – I’m not offended, if you hadn’t – I’m gonna have to try harder :). It’s not all I am, but it’s definitely a part of me. And that’s probably true for most of more or less successful bloggers (I’m not sure if I belong in this category) – it’s a just a question of how far we are willing to go to reach an audience.
    I just wish I really was independently wealthy, or had an extra 5-6 hours in a day. What I DON’T want is getting paid for blogging – that would take most of the fun out of it.

    • 

      Hey X!

      First – you are a Superstar, not a Fame Whore. I don’t follow Fame Whores! And you’re on my blog – no Fame Whores come here – there’s nothing to be gained for them here. I’m a newbie!!

      I’m honored that you took the time to read, and to leave such an extensive comment.

      Of course we all want Fame on some level; to be read – art doesn’t exist in a vacuum. And with all new and better social media platforms to exploit daily, go for it!!

      You’ve been blogging a long time. You’ve earned your readership. You are an excellent, inspiring writer.

      Let me clarify – there’s Whores. And then there’s Cheap Whores.

      The Cheap Fame Whore is a newbie like me. But there’s something about them that stinks like dog crap. Something too cleverly orchestrated that gets my hackles up.

      I don’t object to promoting one’s work. But when it becomes more about that, and less about writing – then you’ve got the Kardashians. Famous for nothing.

      You feel me?

      • 

        Thank you for your compliments – I wouldn’t call myself a star or a superstar, though. A wannabe, yes. A fame whore, yes, kind of. As I said, it comes with the territory.
        Your writing is pretty unique, so I’ll be following your fame-whore-free blog.
        P.S. There is at least one blogger who I consider an ultimate Fame Whore. This blogger comments on EVERY Freshly Pressed post that I care to open. You could say this blogger is my lighthouse, as in “pay attention, but keep a safe distance away from that.” πŸ™‚

      • 

        Ha! The only thing I’ll ever get freshly pressed is a panini!

        Thanks for the follow – it means a lot to me!

  12. 

    I think blogging gives people, including me, a hope of attention that used to not exist. The fame whores are beyond annoying, but they tend to be temporary; you can’t buy your fame, you earn it or not. The good bloggers are well-read because they produce quality. I think they have to be good writers to earn that, and they have to connect. The writers who are not bloggers (like me I guess – by not blogger, I’m meaning that I don’t write necessarily about me), are generally much less read, have fewer connections to people because writing fiction or poetry is subjective to taste, and also fade out over time. I guess there’s exceptions to everything, and those are the ones that keep me coming back here to read them.

    • 

      I didn’t know there were writers who blog who weren’t bloggers. If you’re a writer, and you are, a genius one, and you blog, doesn’t that make you a blogging writer?

      It’s all too confusing! Eff the fame whores, let’s flash burn their cars!

  13. 

    Yes! Let’s ta-
    You have a Beemer?

  14. 

    You got the life of the blogger down..

  15. 

    Not you! You write more in a day than i do in a week! No Fame Whore, you!
    i’m still trying to figure out the karmic yogi thing. Or anything about you for that matter. Very mysterious. And I’ve read your posts. I know you have a son who Occupied Wall Street. And went to Rutgers, here in NJ. But you are still an enigma.

  16. 

    42 replies on this post and you’re not a “Blogging Superstar?” I’m lucky if I can get more than six on any of mine. It’s like there’s a sticker just above the titles of my blogs that says “Read and Like only. Do not comment.” If you don’t consider yourself a “Blogging Superstar” then I don’t know what you’re doing that I’m not. Love your work, though.

    • 

      Wish I hadn’t written that post.

      It sounds judgmental now. Ever since my N-word post, I’m going to be a tad more sensitive.

      I don’t have time for twitter and facebook and all that self promotion. I wish I did, though. I had a social media intern last year, and she did all that stuff for me. That’s the way to go!

  17. 

    Welcome, fellow dilettante. You seem to be doing okay for yourself. Where did your traffic come from? When I first started on here, there was another person who shall remain nameless, whose posts consisted of very little. Kind of the equivalent of a LOL cat picture with about 10 words below it. And some bad poetry. And yet, she claimed to have already gotten 1000 followers in her first month or some crazy number like that.
    Whatever you’re doing, you’re doing it right. Quality writing will gain you long term readers. Or at least, that’s what I keep telling myself!

    • 

      I’ve been spending time reading blogs – I particularly look for other women bloggers, well respected and well known bloggers -and read and read and read. I try to engage and get inspired. I’m still trying to find my voice. It’s not as clearly defined as yours.

      But once in a while, I get bloggers like you to come and visit. And I just keep reading and finding more bloggers. I particularly like humorists.

      I don’t have 1000, I only have 65 followers, but I love every last one of them. And I love the writing. I’m working on a fun piece right now,and hope to post tonight – a scandalous juicy bit about New York strip clubs! Maybe the tags will drive traffic here!

When I see the orange light, I have a BLOGASM...

